Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Least Wanted -- Chapter 17
0:00
-11:58

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paperback Writer

Least Wanted -- Chapter 17

Sam McRae Mystery #2

Sam attempts to get information from one of Tina’s so-called friends. This does not particularly well.

Narration by Melba Sibrel.

CHAPTER SEVENTEEN

It was a simple plan. On Friday, Little D would observe the Iverson Mall drop and follow the man in the blue uniform. Narsh would meet the white guys around twelve-thirty the next day in the lot at Calvert Road Park and give them their package. I intended to be there to see the handoff, take photos, and follow the two men after they left the park. Little D and I would touch base later that day.

Little D returned Narsh’s empty clip and we left Choochie’s. I asked if he would run me by Rochelle Watson’s house. I still hoped one of the neighbors would confirm Tina’s presence the night of the murder. Little D took me to the house. While I knocked on Rochelle’s door, he visited other neighbors.

The door opened to reveal Tanya’s thin, sallow face. “What is it?” Her eyes were as dull as her voice.

“Hi, Tanya. Remember me?”

“Yeah, I ’member you. Whatchoo want now?”

“I wondered if I could speak to Rochelle.”

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Paperback Writer to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Read a chapter a week of my New York Times bestselling first novel here. Sequels available to paid subscribers. In audio, where available.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack