Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Least Wanted -- Chapter 15
0:00
-9:47

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paperback Writer

Least Wanted -- Chapter 15

Sam McRae Mystery #2

In the previous chapter, Sam met Little D, a streetwise guy who’s going to help her with the case. The question is, at what cost will Sam’s investigation come to Sam? Follow her adventures here!

CHAPTER FIFTEEN

With no client meetings or court appearances, I wore jeans and an old long-sleeve pullover to the office the next day. Casual dress seemed in order for a trip to the ’hood. Though I had other work to do, my thoughts were stuck on Little D’s promise to take me that afternoon to meet Narsh at a local bar serving as his office. My cases kept me occupied, but anticipation charged through me.

For the umpteenth time, I called Hirschbeck and got his voice mail. I left another message for him to arrange an audit and check the company’s computers for tampering. I was beginning to feel like a parrot.

The deeper I got into the Higgins embezzlement case, the more certain I was that our client was getting hosed. I had no clue what to do about it. Brad Higgins hadn’t been fired, so we couldn’t sue for wrongful termination. And, as an “at-will” employee, I didn’t see how we could sue Kozmik even if they let Higgins go. Still, I had to do something. For the moment, that “something” was to stay on Hirschbeck like a yellow jacket on a picnicker.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Paperback Writer to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Read a chapter a week of my New York Times bestselling first novel here. Sequels available to paid subscribers. In audio, where available.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack