Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Chapter 36 of 'Riptide'
0:00
-5:20

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paperback Writer

Chapter 36 of 'Riptide'

CHAPTER THIRTY-SIX

I stopped by the condo to pick up the laptop. Jamila was on the phone. Sounded like she was having a pleasant talk with her auto insurance company about her coverage. As I ducked inside, she said, “Hold on a moment,” and set the receiver down with a loud clunk, fixing me with a killer look.

“You would not believe what I’ve been through today,” I told her. I launched into a brief summary of the bizarre events that morning at the Bower residence, followed by the eye-opening discussion with Danni, my phone call with Reed Duvall and my interrogation of the witness who fingered her in the lineup. I skipped over a lot of the gory details about Karla, Dwayne, and Curtis, and didn’t speculate about the big operation. I still needed confirmation of a few facts before I told Jamila more. She was my client and had to be treated like any other.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Paperback Writer to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Read a chapter a week of my New York Times bestselling first novel here. Sequels available to paid subscribers. In audio, where available.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack