Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Chapter 28 of 'Riptide'
0:00
-5:22

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paperback Writer

Chapter 28 of 'Riptide'

Sam McRae Mystery #3

CHAPTER TWENTY-EIGHT

The Pirate’s Den was a ramshackle building with weathered driftwood boards stacked into makeshift walls. I parked the scooter in the lot and climbed the wooden ramp to the entrance. A pirate’s skull-and-crossbones sign welcomed me. Cute.

I pulled open the door and stared into a void. The bar was so dimly lit, I had to step inside and let my eyes adjust before I could see a thing. It took a while. Eventually I made out a bar running along the back wall, old-fashioned lanterns hung on wrought iron posts, wooden beams, starfish, shells and other beachy doodads hanging from the fishnet on the walls. A few customers emerged from the dark.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Paperback Writer to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Paperback Writer
Sam McRae Mysteries
Read a chapter a week of my New York Times bestselling first novel here. Sequels available to paid subscribers. In audio, where available.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack