Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

My Book Review of 'The Murder Wheel'

Here’s the AI-generated (and lightly edited) summary of my review:

Speaker 1 reviews a book called The Murder Wheel, which they thoroughly enjoyed. The book is a locked-room mystery involving magicians and a lawyer protagonist who is defending a client accused of murder. The protagonist becomes involved in a theater murder case, adding another layer to the mystery. The speaker appreciates the puzzle-like aspect of the story and the unexpected information (i.e., information dump) revealed at the end. They recommend the book to those who enjoy locked-room mysteries and don't mind clues being revealed towards the conclusion. Info-dump at the end? Fine by me. :)

Hi, today I'm reviewing The Murder Wheel. I really enjoyed this book a lot. Yeah, it's ostensibly a locked-room mystery, but it involves magicians, so there will be trickery. And it is about, the protagonist is somebody who I can really relate to because he's a lawyer, a lawyer, trying to defend a client who's been accused of murdering her husband on a Ferris Wheel of all places. 

And he is looking at all these different witnesses and gets involved in inquiring at this theater. And the next thing you know there's a murder at the theater. Involving magic. Yeah, he's interested in magic also, I should say. He's interested in magicians and magic. And magic is what's involved in this and magic tricks. And so there are two locked-room mysteries kind of going on. And I don't want to say too much about this book except to say that, boy, that ending comes at you with lots of information.

Yeah, that's about it. But it's fun to read. I have to tell you. It is fun to read. And I liked Ibbs so much. Poor Edmund Ibbs, who ends up in the frame, so to speak. And it's interesting that there are little callbacks in here to hardboiled mystery really in a sense, because you got, nevermind, I don't want to talk about that. 

But there's definitely, there's a puzzle-like aspect to all this, and certain pieces are left out and some people might cry unfair, but not me, because I'm not a person who tries to solve things. I just go for the ride most of the time. And if I happen to think of a solution, that's cool. 

But anyway, I enjoyed the book for what it's worth. And so if you enjoy locked-room mysteries where maybe the clues come at you all at the end and you go, oh, you never said that before. Nevermind. If you don't mind that, then you're going to enjoy this book. Okay. Okay, great. Thank you. Talk to you later.

Yes, I’ll give my highest rating. Because it really is a fun read.

You can buy the ebook from Amazon.

You can also buy it in print from my online bookstore and support indie bookstores.

0 Comments
Paperback Writer
Book Talk
My latest book reviews in video and audio.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack