Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

My Book Review of 'The Doorman'

Transcript

No transcript...

Here’s the AI summary:

Speaker 1 reviews a book titled "The Doorman" which they received by chance from a group meeting in Columbia. They describe the book as interesting and engaging, despite some proofreading errors. The speaker compares the book's style to that of Doc Savage, but written by Douglas Adams, and expresses their enjoyment of it. They conclude by praising the author, Mark C. Brown, and expressing their luck in coming across the book.

I’d say that’s accurate! Nice going AI. I think.

Hi. Today I am reviewing The Doorman. This is a book that I happen to have by happy accident. It was lent to me by a person who I met at a group that gets together every Saturday, I believe it is, in Columbia, and I just happened to find out about them through somebody I contacted on NextDoor, who is a newspaper owner. Isn't that interesting? But I digress. And in fact, if you like people who tend to say, I digress, you'll love this book. There are many digressions, but they won't take away from the plot. They'll make you want to read it more, actually. It's really interesting.

I also have to say in full disclosure that there are many proofreader agonizing moments in here, some incorrectly punctuated, spelled, whatever---a period in the wrong place, a usage isn't quite right, but it doesn't matter. You'll be so engrossed in this story. At least I was, and who can't love a book with a quote on the cover that says, "There should be a quote here by a famous person, but I couldn't find anyone who would do it." Seriously, that's what it says right there. 

And then of course there's the quote from the Doorman. "This isn't me." No, it isn't. "All was well until a certain guest arrived." Yes. "seriously funny, but is it though?" Yes. All from the cover of this wonderful book, which is a bit, I'm reading this and I'm thinking, this reminds me of something, and then I remembered what—Doc Savage. This is Doc Savage, as if it were written by Douglas Adams. That's pretty much the size of it and that's why I absolutely love it. I should probably do this review for Towel Day. Maybe Douglas Adams would appreciate that. I don't know, but I really like this book a lot. So hats off to Mark C. Brown, and lucky me that I happened to be in the right place at the right time to get this book. It's awesome. That's it, and I will talk to you later.

You can buy the book from Amazon.

You can also buy it here and support indie bookstores.

0 Comments
Paperback Writer
Book Talk
My latest book reviews in video and audio.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Debbi Mack