Paperback Writer
Book Talk
My Book Review of ‘Rebecca’
0:00
-2:21

My Book Review of ‘Rebecca’

Hi! Today I’m reviewing Rebecca. This is a classic book and it was made into a movie.

I saw the movie and frankly didn’t care for it all that much. My recollection is that, I don’t know, maybe I didn’t like the characters or something about it just didn’t click with me. And that Mrs. Danvers, she just made me think of the Wicked Witch of the West of Housekeepers or something. Anyway, that’s all I remember of that movie. Other than the beginning. “I dreamt of Manderly,” you know, that opening scene. Anyway, other than that, it never really made an impression on me, but I decided to read this book anyway, just to give it a chance, and it’s romantic suspense. I gotta tell you, I never read romantic suspense. And I ended up loving this book. It’s written in such exquisite detail, which I normally don’t like, but it’s so good that it just draws you and sucks you right in.

And the character, of course, the main character, the protagonist is just the most likable person, because she has a great sense of humor. She’s just working for this kind of bossy woman and not liking it. Ends up meeting this guy, marrying him and well, she just … she lacks self-confidence obviously, and it just comes through over and over. But I mean, at the same time, there’s so much going on here that you don’t fully appreciate it until you get to the end and it’s just like, it draws you in and toward the end things get really, really intense. So, anyway, it’s a great book and I highly recommend you read it. If you enjoy suspense, thrillers. I mean it’s a really great book.

Thanks and I’ll talk to you later.

0 Comments
Paperback Writer
Book Talk
My latest book reviews in video and audio.