Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

My Book Review of ‘Dark Ride’

Transcript

No transcript...

Hi, today I’m reviewing Dark Ride by Lou Berney. This is a really good story. It kept me just engaged throughout and thinking throughout, wondering about the characters.

It’s about a young man who’s got this dead end job at an amusement park as some kind of, I dunno, actor, I guess. Character actor. Anyway, he’s a character at an amusement park and he doesn’t like his job and he doesn’t like his life very much, I guess. And he’s sort of drifting. He sees these two kids on a bench somewhere, I can’t remember where it was now, but he notices, I think, burn marks or something on them.

So he’s worried about them and somehow or other he gets involved and starts looking into things and it gives him a purpose, basically. He’s looking after these kids and trying to contact or trying to understand the parents, doing various things to try to get information, talking to Child Protective Services, but he can’t … well, I don’t want to say too much. I’m already saying too much.

Suffice it to say he investigates the situation with these two children and what he finds is ultimately, well, let’s put it this way. Sometimes you just can’t save the world, but sometimes you can save a couple of people, maybe and sometimes, well, things don’t always work out quite as neatly as you would like them to or as happily, but it is safe to say that the ending of this book is noir. That’s all I will say, and I’m not sure what more to add to that. So check out the book. It’s very, very good. As I said, I kept guessing about the characters because I kept thinking, is this woman being straight with him? Is he being set up? What’s really going on here? Why would somebody set him up? I don’t know. Anyway, check it for yourself and see what you think. Dark Ride by Lou Berney. Really good reading. That’s it. Thank you. Talk to you later..

You can buy the ebook from Kobo or Amazon.

You can also buy it in print from my online bookstore and support indie bookstores.

Transcript created by Rev.com.

0 Comments
Paperback Writer
Book Talk
My latest book reviews in video and audio.