Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

My Review of 'Holiday Boyfriend' (2023)

Transcript

No transcript...

AI-generated preview:

Speaker 1 reviews a romantic comedy movie called "Holiday Boyfriend". The movie is about a woman who is determined to marry rich and tries to pass off her shy friend as her boyfriend. The speaker appreciates the family interactions in the movie, finding them relatable, funny, and cringe-worthy. The speaker identifies more with the character Nathan, who is pretending to be the woman's boyfriend. The speaker criticizes the woman's materialistic values but suggests that she might eventually realize her mistakes. The speaker recommends the movie as a fun watch, especially for the holiday season.

Full review follows:

*****

Hi, today I'm reviewing a movie called Holiday Boyfriend. Yeah, this is an interesting movie. One. I think that, well, this is the kind of movie that will appeal to people that watch rom-coms, no matter how idiotic certain characters are.

Let me just explain myself here. I don't watch a lot of rom-coms. In fact, very few and I hardly ever review them. So these comments are coming from a person who generally doesn't watch rom-coms. So the thing I loved about this movie was the families, the way the families interacted. And I don't want to get into the plot too much because to say too much would be spoiling a lot of stuff that happens real early on. So I'll just say that Holiday Boyfriend is about a woman who is bound and determined to marry rich, apparently, and wants to pass off this friend of hers, a man who is so shy that he can never speak up and say, "Hey, I love you," or whatever, as her boyfriend. So I think I haven't said too much at this point.

Suffice it to say that there are a lot of twists in this movie that are very interesting, that took me by surprise. And they come early on. And the other thing I liked was the families. This girl has a family that ... I'm sitting there during that first scene with the dinner, not at the first scene, but it's just where they're all together at dinner. And I'm like, “Man, I've been to this dinner” or some version of it.

"Clowns to the left of me, jokers to the right, here I am ... etc." (Image provided by Paul Collett.)

It's excruciating, but funny as hell. And so I think to me, Nathan, that's the boy passing himself off as her fiancé or boyfriend, I can't remember which now. Does it matter?

So having said that, where was I going with that? I don't know. Yeah, the families just, the interaction is fabulous and funny and cringe-worthy, and Nathan. That's it. Nathan is the protagonist of this thing, as far as I'm concerned. I related more with Nathan than I did with the woman. I mean, saying things like, "I can't give up on the dream of a lifetime." What? To marry a man that you don't even know, that you don't particularly love, just because he has a lot of money? Wow. I thought, wow, is that still a thing? And then there was, "I'm marrying a rich, handsome man before I become an old maid." People still use the expression, old maid? Wow. Okay, well see. Okay. It's like, okay, this person has some very screwed up values. That's all there is to it. But will love find a way? It's a rom-com. What do you think?

"I think I see the light. ... Maybe." (Image provided by Paul Collett.)

Okay. But it's a cute holiday sort of movie about family, about crazy family and how wonderful and how awful at the same time they can all be. So that's it then, and happy holidays. Watch a good movie. This is a fun watch. Really it is. Just understand that this woman has her values all screwed up. But she'll see eventually the error of her ways, right? We hope. Take care. Talk to you later.

*****

Directed by Paul Collett
Screenplay by Paul Collett
Produced by Paul Collett, Nate Lipp, and Amanda Nevares

Here'a the trailer!

Watch it for the families! And Nathan. And that other girl in the office who makes so much more sense provides running commentary on the whole thing. 🙂

Four stars! Check it out.

PS: Did I forget to mention that Nathan gets to give one of the best "take this job and shove it" speeches ever? :)

0 Comments