Paperback Writer
Paperback Writer
Least Wanted -- Chapter 14
0:00
-11:51

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paperback Writer

Least Wanted -- Chapter 14

Sam McRae Mystery #2

In this chapter, Sam meets Little D, who can provide an “in” with folks in neighborhoods where Sam wouldn’t normally be welcomed with open arms.

The audio version provided here for paid subscribers features the original narrator, Melba Sibrel. Not available through retailers. Not anymore.

CHAPTER FOURTEEN

“Well, Duvall was right.” I said. “There isn’t much truth to that nickname, is there?”

Little D issued a throaty chuckle. “A mere accident of birth order.”

“Have a seat.” I rounded the desk and sat down, while he wedged himself into the guest chair. “So what brings you to me?”

“I understand you’re Tina Jackson’s attorney.” He made eye-to-eye contact. I liked that. “I want to help with her defense.”

“How much would you charge?”

“Nothing.” I must have looked surprised. “Shanae and I were friends,” he continued. “I feel I owe it to her to look after the girl.”

“You were just friends?”

He shrugged. “We did a bit of business, too. Mainly friends.”

“When you say business, what does that refer to?”

“I’m getting to that,” he said calmly.

I gestured for him to continue.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Paperback Writer to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Paperback Writer
Paperback Writer
For crime fiction fans!